38th Area Artists’ Annual Juried Exhibit

38th Area
Exhibition Dates: 
October 10 – November 21, 2015

Gallery Hours: 
Thursday through Saturday, 11am – 3pm

 Adobe Art Gallery
20395 San Miguel Avenue, Castro Valley, CA

Artists Reception:
Saturday, October 10, 1pm-3pm

This exhibit showcases art from the Bay Area art community. Judge, Daniel Galvez, had the challenging task of selecting 71 pieces to exhibit from a total of 180 pieces entered. Exhibit mediums includes acrylic, oil, watercolor, mixed media, encaustic, pastel, monoprints, cut paper, pencil, clay, and photographic prints.

Awards of Merit ($150)
Kay Athos, Now & Then, oil
Michael Belew, Winter Tree, archival digital print
Jason Oberbeck, Think Big, Listen More, oil & wood engraving
Susan Quinn, Springtime in Kyoto, photography archival print
Stevie Ray, Malcolm X, charcoal
Anthony Rollins, Raku/Saggar, URN, ceramics

Honorable Mention

Myriam Espinosa Aguirre, Spider’s Web, oil on canvas
Michael Belew, Leaves, archival digital print
Nick Calarco, Angkor Wat, solar etching photogaph
Patricia Devitt, Brilliant Branch, oil
Dorothy Gantenbein, Untitled 2, archival pigment print
Kathleen Hardwig, Flowering Maple, watercolor & ink
Ellen King, Meadow Moments, pastel
Ann Maloney-Mason, Sweet One, acylic & ink
Susan Quinn, Reflections, photography archival print
Kevin Swanson, Green Gold…, clay and plaster
Ruey Syrop, A Big Odd Lemon, pastel
Alani Taira, Lifeline, pencil, graphite

Mona Froyland Memorial Award ($100)

Richard Geiger, Williwaw, watercolor

Congratulations to Selected Artists:
Hollie Adamic, Myriam Espinosa Aguirre, Kay Athos, Ellen Bailey, Rosa Bazzani, Dorothy Beardslee, Michael Belew, Carol Bettencourt, Louis Bodas, Carol Jones Brown, Nick Calarco, Valerie Caveglia, Robert D. Chavez III, David Cornetet, Atilla Cziglenyi, Pushpa Dalal, Philip Denst, Patricia Devitt, Jo-Ann Maggiora Donivan, Sheila Fimreite, Chip Fricke, Dorothy Gantenbein, Richard Geiger, Nancy Hansen, Kathleen Hardwig, Juanita Hemanes, Kin Hsieh, Nina C. Kindblad, Ellen King, Tammy Landon, Emily Limon, Bev Lindsay, Karla Lopez, Janet Lyons, Ann Maloney-Mason, Robin McCoy, Fiona Miller, Al Murdach, Jason Oberbeck, Edward Ortman, Bim Paras, Maria Luisa Penaranda, Aphra Pia, James Prokes, Susan Quinn, Stevie Ray, Peg Robinson, Anthony Rollins, Madeline Mischo Shelby, Bruce Small, Nan Soldahl, Kevin Swanson, Ruey Syrop, Alani Taira, Gerald Thompson, Bianca Tummings, L Renea Turner, Azar Vaghefi, Kathy Wahrer, Doyle Wegner and Robert Wolff.

Judge Daniel Galvez was born in Calexico, California in 1953 and grew up in Sacramento. After studying at Pacific University in Oregon for two years, he came to the Bay Area in 1973 to attend California College of Arts and Crafts in Oakland where he received a BFA in 1975. He went on to receive an MA in painting from San Francisco State University in 1979. He has worked for almost forty years as a public artist with site-specific commissions for a variety of public facilities including government buildings, museums, libraries and schools. He has completed such high-profile projects as a pair of interpretive murals on canvas for the headquarters of the U.S. Department of the Interior in Washington DC on the occasion of their 150th Anniversary and a mural honoring the life of Malcolm X for the City of New York which is installed in the Audubon Ballroom where Malcolm X was assassinated. His earliest work involved creating outdoor murals in the Bay Area cities of Oakland, Berkeley and San Francisco. In 2014, along with his original team of muralists, he restored his 1983 The Carnaval Mural in the Mission District of San Francisco.